Pencil Vase

17 May

Finding an easy buffet and memorabilia decor was tricky.  I started in August and hit up the numerous sales for back-to-school.  Combined with a little bit of google searching, I found a cute and easy pencil vase idea!  I first saved and washed peanut butter containers.  I put some spray adhesive on paper and attached it to the plastic container.  I then put the pencils, eraser down, on with a hot glue gun.

I went all the way around, using the table as a level guide.  The process went pretty quickly and was not too hard.

I also turned the logos on the pencils so I could use multiple brands of pencils.  I then put a rubber band around the pencils and placed two contrasting decorative ribbons to hide the band and glued on a bow.

And viola!  Easy decor for the party!  Best part is that if you skip the hot glue, all the pencils can be donated/used!  More pictures of the vase “in action” can be found here.

3 Responses to “Pencil Vase”

  1. W August 7, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Now is the time to buy the pencils for the vase! Sales are abundant for back to school– as low as 1¢/pencil!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Personalized Water Bottles « doodles, dabbles, & dreams - June 1, 2011

    […] The dimensions of the labels are 8.25″ x 1.5″ with 0.25″ margins.  I cut the labels and then had DH put them on.  I made two designs and will alternate them when I put them out.  Such an easy (and cheap at 16¢/bottle) decoration!  The tutorial for the Pencil Vase in the pictures can be found here. […]

  2. Teacher Appreciation « doodles, dabbles, & dreams - January 21, 2012

    […] Pencil Vase (with tutorial!) […]

Leave a comment